fret bum

I’m a big fan of up close and personal live music. If I could play guitar as well as I can ride a bike, this blog would be called “fretbum” instead of “velobum”. I might be a hacker on the guitar, but I can still have top quality live music in my house. That’s where Andy and Renee come in.

Andy and Renee

Andy and Renee


Andy slidin'

Andy slidin'

I have been listening to Andy and Renee for several years now – at local bars, at other house concerts, and at the annual DylanFest, which they have been producing for the past 22 years. I’ve heard them solo, as a duo, as a trio, and with their full band called Hard Rain. I keep going back.

A couple of weekends ago was a special alignment of birthdays – my sister Kathleen, visiting from Michigan, her son James who lives in Long Beach, and Andy Hill (of Andy and Renee). I put together a triple birthday party house concert with Andy, and his partner in music, Renee Safier, playing in my living room (sans furniture). 50 guests (many of them my cycling pals – this is a cycling blog after all), lots of great appetizers and socializing beforehand, 4 kinds of sub sandwiches between sets, a surprise musical guest to start the second set, and birthday cakes to round off the evening.

chocolate buttercream

chocolate buttercream


red velvet

red velvet


Hawaiian Passion (guava/lime/mango)

Hawaiian Passion (guava/lime/mango)

For the full set of pictures provided by Donna & Don Butts, Mario Obejas, Carlos Lopez and velobum, go to this link at Shutterfly.

This entry was posted in family, music, socializing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to fret bum

  1. Andy Hill says:

    So nice of you Jeff! It was a great party all around!

  2. Geri Chaudhri says:

    Nice write up adn photos! The party was a blast. Enjoyed your song too. Thansk again for the invite. Geri

  3. Renee Safier says:

    Sneaky not to mention that the surprise guest performer was YOU! Thanks for hosting and for writing this great blog!
    xorenee

Leave a Reply

