Pain and the Pastry Solution

“Do you not see how necessary a world of pains and troubles is to school an intelligence and make it a soul?”
John Keats, Letters of John Keats

“Face your life, its pain, its pleasure, leave no path untaken.”
Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book

“The unending paradox is that we do learn through pain.”
Madeleine L’Engle

This google thing is pretty handy, delivering relevant quotes to adorn my posting nearly instantaneously. They almost become a commodity, but it doesn’t make them any less valid.

Last night I was out at a New Year’s Eve party with a lovely lass whom I met recently. Appetizers, dinner, a wide selection of red wines, live band and dancing, dancing, dancing. I did manage to keep what seemed like a reasonable limit on the wine intake, although as the intake increases the elasticity of a reasonable limit likewise increases. Crikey, I don’t think I’ve done that much dancing since my university days. Champagne at midnight and no sleep until after 2am. If not for having such a great time, it would otherwise be a recipe for regret at my advanced age.

Whamo, the alarm went off at 7:30. Oh shit… I really want to sleep more. A lot more. Why is the effing alarm going off? Oh yeah, I arranged a New Year’s Day ride with Mario and Angie, our favorite barrista from Catalina Coffee.

Start by rotating my feet to loosen up the ankles and achilles. Pain. Swing the legs over the side of the bed and creakingly sit up. Pain. Hobble to the head to pee. Pain, pain, pain. What is the lesson here? The classic “I’m too old for this shit” and maybe a bit of schedule more sleep time.

Well, that’s for another day. On this day I need to get kitted up and on the road to chez Mario in Torrance and then on to fetch Angie in Lomita. That’s all mostly flat, but after meeting Angie we set off on the uphill slog – Western to PV Drive North to PV Drive East, up to Marymount College and then up to the FAA radomes on the top of the hill. Every stroke brought a complaint from the guns to the bridge – more down time required for maintenance!

But… it’s January 1, a new year. Also Mario’s birthday. So we needed to get out on the path, face the pain (at least on my part) and take in the pleasures of the ride. Not least of which was an hour loitering at Sacred Grounds in San Pedro with a tall hot americano and a fresh croissant. Now I feel better…

This entry was posted in cycling, socializing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

